Skip to main content
Photo: Sunrise in Texas

Pfluger Leads Texans Calling for President Biden to Approve Governor Abbott’s Disaster Declaration

February 22, 2021

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Friday, Congressman August Pfluger led a group of 19 Members of the Texas Congressional Delegation in sending a letter to President Biden asking him to approve the major disaster declaration issued by Governor Abbott Thursday night. Swift approval is necessary to alleviate suffering across the state and ensure ongoing recovery and relief efforts are unimpeded.  

Other signers of the letter include Texas Representatives Dan Crenshaw, Michael McCaul, John Carter, Brian Babin, Chip Roy, Michael C. Burgess, M.D., Roger Williams, Ronny Jackson, Kevin Brady, Troy E. Nehls, Tony Gonzales, Randy Weber, Lance Gooden, Louie Gohmert, Van Taylor, Michael Cloud, Al Green, and Pete Sessions.

"Our home state has been battered by unprecedented winter weather that has affected all 254 counties in Texas, overwhelmed the power grid, and crippled our roadways. The historic impacts of winter precipitation and artic temperatures have left millions of Texans without power, potable water, and have strained the supply chain for food and other necessities,"the Members wrote in the letter.

Read the full letter here.