Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

December 11, 2024

The Honorable John Thune Senate Majority Leader-Elect` United States Senate Washington D.C. 20510 The Honorable Chuck Schumer Senate Majority Leader United States Senate Washington D.C. 20510

Dear Majority Leader-elect Thune and Majority Leader Schumer,

We, the undersigned veterans of Congress, write to express our strong support for Mr. Pete Hegseth as Secretary of Defense. In an era of unprecedented global challenges, America demands defense leadership that breaks from conventional approaches. President-elect Trump has selected Mr. Hegseth to go beyond traditional bureaucratic management to fundamentally transform our national defense strategy and rebuild military capabilities.

His ability to communicate across institutional landscapes—with military leadership, congressional representatives, and frontline troops—will set him apart. His media expertise and transparent communication style will be crucial in executing a clear vision that cuts through bureaucratic inertia.

As a decorated combat veteran of the Iraq and Afghanistan campaigns, he offers an authentic understanding of modern warfare. His Harvard and Princeton credentials, combined with battlefield experience, forged a rare intellect aligned with President-elect Trump's strategic vision, to bridge the gap between the beltway and frontline realities.

Mr. Hegseth stands as a critical connector to the force of tomorrow. In an era of declining recruitment, he offers a compelling vision that speaks directly to potential service members – a return to a military focused on excellence and unwavering national defense.

The current global security landscape demands a leader who understands the complexities of modern conflicts. Mr. Hegseth's singular focus on military lethality, coupled with deep knowledge of Defense and Veterans Affairs, positions him to create a more responsive and effectively prepared fighting force. The Heritage Foundation's recent assessment of our military strength as "weak" is an urgent call to action. Mr. Hegseth represents the strategic reset our defense infrastructure requires – an unorthodox yet qualified leader who can streamline the defense bureaucracy, accelerate modernization, and ensure America remains the world's most formidable military power.

Despite relentless media attempts to undermine Mr. Hegseth's nomination, we call on the Senate to honor its constitutional duty of advice and consent by conducting a fair, thorough confirmation process that evaluates his nomination solely on its substantive merits— his distinguished military service, academic credentials, and a bold vision for revitalizing our national defense. The integrity of our democratic institutions depends on allowing this critical process to proceed.

We earnestly support Mr. Hegseth's nomination as Secretary of Defense, confident he will transform President-elect Trump's vision into reality, safeguarding America's national security interests with courage, intellect, and unwavering commitment.

Sincerely,

August Pfluger

Member of Congress

Barry Moore

Member of Congress

Elijah Crane

Michael Waltz

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Corv Mills

Member of Congress

Anna Paulina Luna

Member of Congress

W. Gregory Steube

Member of Congress

C. Scott Franklin

Member of Congress



Brian J. Mast Member of Congress

Andrew S. Clyde

Member of Congress

Zach Nunn

Member of Congress

Clay Higgins

Member of Congress

Ryan K. Zinke

Member of Congress

Brandon Williams

Member of Congress

Rich McCormick, MD, MBA

Member of Congress

Barry Loudermilk Member of Congress

Mike Bost

Member of Congress

Trent Kelly

Member of Congress

Nick LaLota

Member of Congress

Max L. Miller

Member of Congress

Guy Reschenthaler Member of Congress

Mark E. Green, MD Member of Congress

Keith Self

Member of Congress

Morgan Luttrell

Member of Congress

Troy E. Nehls

Member of Congress

Derrick Van Orden Member of Congress

) und Van Orden

William R. Timmons, IV

Member of Congress

Dan Crenshaw Member of Congress

Jake Ellzey

Member of Congress

Ronny L. Jackson Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Scott Fitzgerald

Member of Congress